Nomad in North America: Providence, Rhode Island

Mai Mislang
5 min readSep 10, 2019

It was a hero’s concert that made me go, and good friends, old and new, who made me want to stay.

East Providence

My quick trip to this city was the final leg of my six-week tour and it could not have capped my adventure better. Providence is simple and sweet, devoid of the noise and trappings of a mega-metropolis. What I love about it is its size — minute by comparison to Boston, but brims with my favorite things: charming cafes for reading, neighborhoods with a small-town feel, art, artisanal food, historic buildings, water and lots of green spaces. Everything fits nicely.

I arrived early and settled down at a Seven Stars bakery that is situated nicely on a street corner. The huge cafe windows allow natural light to pour in, which is perfect for reading or getting some work done. Visiting tourists like myself can check out the neighborhood without moving while enjoying their delicious gingerbread cookie and free cold brew. They also have what is probably the best kale salad ever. I was hoping that with a few bites I could recreate the dressing in the future (which I am inclined to do) but I accepted defeat right away.

L-R: best kale salad, Providence in bloom

--

--

Mai Mislang

Former presidential speechwriter, still a musician; owns a bakery, loves her dog. Tries to write more prose than poetry. Filipina from Manila.